Directors - Pharmacy Residency Program - Bay Pines VA Healthcare System
Attention A T users. To access the menus on this page please perform the following steps. 1. Please switch auto forms mode to off. 2. Hit enter to expand a main menu option (Health, Benefits, etc). 3. To enter and activate the submenu links, hit the down arrow. You will now be able to tab or arrow up or down through the submenu options to access/activate the submenu links.

Bay Pines VA Healthcare System

Veterans Crisis Line Badge
My HealtheVet badge

Directors - Pharmacy Residency Program

Ming M. Chow, PharmD, MS is the PGY-1 Pharmacy Residency Program Director for the Lee County VA Healthcare Center and is the Hepatology Pharmacy Program Manager. Dr. Chow received a Bachelor of Science degree, a Master of Science degree, and a Doctor of Pharmacy degree from the University of Florida. She completed an Internal Medicine Pharmacy Practice residency with the North Florida/South Georgia VA Healthcare System in Gainesville, FL where she then worked as a Clinical Inpatient Pharmacist for 10 years prior to joining Bay Pines VHS in her current role.  In addition to the Hepatitis C clinic, Dr. Chow manages the HIV Pre-Exposure Prophylaxis (PrEP) clinic and is involved in the Antimicrobial Stewardship program with the Infectious Disease team.  She is also involved in the clinical training of PharmD candidates and holds academic appointments at the University of Florida and Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine.   

Carolyn Combs, PharmD, MBA, BCPS is the Residency Coordinator, Pharmacy Compliance Program Manager, and a Clinical Pharmacy Supervisor at the CW “Bill” Young VA Medical Center. Dr. Combs received her Doctor of Pharmacy degree from East Tennessee State University, Gatton College of Pharmacy in 2013. After graduating, she completed a PGY-1 residency at the VA Medical Center in Lexington, Kentucky. She subsequently completed her PGY-2 Health Systems Pharmacy Administration Residency at the Bay Pines VAHCS. She is involved in several local, regional, and national committees which focus on pharmacy education, medication safety, and compliance. Dr. Combs works closely with all pharmacy residents, precepting a required rotation for PGY1s in Patient Safety, and is the supervisor for all pharmacy trainees.

Vicki Koenig, PharmD, BCPS is the director of the PGY1 Pharmacy Residency Program at the Bay Pines Main Campus and is an Internal Medicine Clinical Pharmacy Specialist. She holds an advanced scope of practice in Comprehensive Medication Management in Internal Medicine. Dr. Koenig received her Doctor of Pharmacy degree from the University of Florida in 2008 and completed a pharmacy practice residency at Bay Pines VAHCS in 2009. Dr. Koenig's residency research project was the implementation of an inpatient anticoagulation monitoring service, which stands as the standard of care throughout the medical center. Dr. Koenig has served as PGY1 Pharmacy Residency Program Director since 2012. She is an active member of the Pharmacy Publications Review Board. Dr. Koenig was the 2014 recipient of the Bay Pines VAHCS Preceptor of the Year Award. In her free time, she likes to spend time in the Florida sunshine with her three little ones! 

Idi Idiong, BSc, PharmD is the Associate Chief, Pharmacy - Clinical Services Bay Pines VA Healthcare System.   Dr. Idiong received her Bachelor of Science degree in 2002 and Doctor of Pharmacy degree in 2004 both from the University of Connecticut. She is a graduate of the Bay Pines VA Healthcare System Pharmacy Practice Residency, Class of 2005. She holds a Teaching certificate from University of Florida.  Prior to her role as Associate Chief, Dr. Idiong worked for many years as a clinical pharmacist in the Emergency Department, served as Pharmacy Compliance Program manager and Clinical Pharmacy Supervisor for Specialty Clinics. Her areas of interest include Healthcare System Administration, Emergency Medicine, Critical Care, and Infectious Disease. Dr. Idiong is actively involved with PGY1 residents as Co-Chair of Pharmacy Publications Review Board and Residency Program Director for PGY2 Healthcare Administration resident. In addition, she is actively involved in several local, regional, and national committees which focus on health-systems administration, emergency medicine, medication safety and compliance.

Steven Totterdale, BS, PharmD, BCACP is a Clinical Pharmacy specialist and the PGY-2 Ambulatory Care Residency Program Director at the Sarasota VA Primary Care Clinic (CBOC).  Dr. Totterdale received his BS in Pharmacy from Ferris State University and his Doctor of Pharmacy degree from Nova Southeastern University.  Dr. Totterdale received board certification as an ambulatory care pharmacist in 2011.  He is a member of the Pharmacy Publication Review Board at the CW Bill Young Medical Center and the Employee Wellness Committee at the Sarasota CBOC.  Dr. Totterdale’ s clinical responsibilities include anticoagulation services, disease state management, including hyperlipidemia, heart failure, diabetes mellitus, thyroid and hypertension.  Dr. Totterdale is a member of ASHP, FSHP and has served as the president of the Suncoast Society of Health-System Pharmacists on two separate occasions. He also serves as a preceptor to pharmacy students, PGY-1 and PGY-2 pharmacy residents.

Gary L. Wilson, PharmD, is the Chief of Pharmacy.  Dr. Wilson received his Doctor of Pharmacy degree from University of Florida in 2001.  He received his BS in Pharmacy from Samford University in 1979.  Dr. Wilson started his career in Pharmacy at the Mobile Infirmary Medical Center, Mobile, Alabama.  He started his career with the Department of Veterans Affairs at the Birmingham VA Medical Center where he worked for two years.  The last 29 years of his professional career have been at Bay Pines VAHCS.  During this timeframe Dr. Wilson has held various positions from an inpatient staff pharmacist position, oncology backup pharmacist, inpatient technician supervisor, inpatient supervisor, and administrative program manager.  Dr. Wilson serves on the following medical center committees:  Medical Staff Executive Council, Medical Staff Credentialing & Privileging Committee, Pharmacy & Therapeutic Agents Committee, Research & Development Committee, and Data Validation Committee to name a few.  He also serves on several regional committees:  VISN 8 Pharmacy & Therapeutics Committee, VISN 8 Pharmacy Benefits Management Utilization Committee, Pharmacy Professional Standards Board and VISN 8 Medication Safety Committee.